Andy Taggart Names Chairman and Statewide Steering Committee

Madison, Mississippi (April 17, 2019) — Andy Taggart, counsel to several of the state’s top Republican elected officials and former Chief of Staff to Governor Kirk Fordice, has named a statewide Steering Committee of key leaders to oversee Taggart’s campaign for Attorney General. Members of Taggart’s committee include former military leaders, local elected officials, business owners, healthcare providers and other private sector leaders.

“I could not be more pleased to have the advice and active support of those who have committed to serve on our Steering Committee,” Taggart concluded. “If 40 years of working for conservative government has taught me anything, it is that it takes the experience and devotion of a committed team to be successful. I look forward to their help in taking Karen’s and my conservative fight against the scourge of drugs to the frontlines of this battle.”

State Senator Brice Wiggins of Jackson County has been named Chairman of the statewide Steering Committee for Taggart’s campaign for Attorney General. “I am honored that Senator Wiggins has agreed to take on this very significant leadership role in our campaign,” said Taggart. “His devoted service to the people of our state, his background as a prosecutor and practicing attorney, and his personal friendship make him perfect for this job.”

Wiggins noted his enthusiasm about his new role: “I sure wasn’t looking for another job to do as we’ve just finished the legislative session and I was really glad to be back home with my family. But this office is so vital – and electing Andy to the role of Attorney General is so important – that I wanted to help however he needs me,” Wiggins said.

“The importance of this office cannot be understated: from protecting victims’ rights, to tackling public corruption to dictating civil litigation with a conservative mindset. Wiggins is also a past member of the Mississippi Prosecutors Association, and served from 2004-2011 as Assistant District Attorney for the 19th Judicial District, covering Jackson, George and Greene Counties.


Committee Members:

Sen. Brice Wiggins
, State Senator and Former Assistant DA, Pascagoula


  • Dr. Melissa King, Chairman, Mississippi Board of Nursing, Raymond
  • Chris Boone, President, Property and Casualty, BXS Insurance Services, Madison
  • Mike Jones, Athletics Director, Mississippi College, Clinton
  • Renee Porter, Practicing Attorney, Columbia
  • Gary Fordham, Businessman, Petal/Hattiesburg
  • Jim Williams, Businessman, Pascagoula
  • John Cox, Practicing Attorney, Cleveland
  • Wayne Tisdale, Retired Businessman, Gulfport
  • Rachel Pierce Waide, Attorney and former News Anchor, Tupelo
  • Dr. David Chandler, Former MS Supreme Court Justice, Ackerman
  • Paula Hewes, Businesswoman/Homemaker, Gulfport
  • Duane O’Neill, Former President, Greater Jackson Chamber Partnership, Jackson
  • Sean Akins, Board Attorney, Tippah County Bd of Supervisors, Ripley
  • Dr. Ronnie Nettles, Former President, Co-Lin Community College, Brandon
  • Kurt Metzner, Former CEO, MS Baptist Health Systems, Flowood
  • Adrain Lumpkin, County Administrator, Pearl River County, Poplarville
  • Pat Presley, Retired, Moss Point
  • Christa Alexander, General Counsel and Vice President, Fail Telecommunications Corp., Bay Springs/Laurel
  • Pam Files, Senior Vice President, Bottrell, Madison
  • Steve Renfroe, Retired, Chevron, Moss Point
  • Robert St. John, Businessman/Restaurateur, Hattiesburg
  • Dr. Tom Fowlkes, Physician and Businessman, Oxford
  • Sydney Sawyer, CEO, Ascentium Health Services/CEO, Lackey Memorial Hospital, Magee/Forest
  • Nick Ardillo, Fmr Cmdr, Columbus Air Base, Fmr Dpty Chief of Staff to Gov Kirk Fordice, Fmr Dir, GTR Airport, Columbus
  • Anna Kate Baygents, University Program Director, Hattiesburg/Picayune
  • Bob Allen, Board Attorney, Lincoln County Bd of Supervisors, Brookhaven
  • Joie Miller, CEO Georgetown Telephone Co., Georgetown
  • Brad Mayo, Businessman, Former State Representative, Oxford
  • Lisa Ladnier Hoskinson, Cost Pricing Analyst, Ingalls Shipbuilding, Pascagoula
  • Aaron Feazelle, Student Body President, Mississippi College, Diamondhead
  • Rick Webster, CEO, Key Constructors, Campaign Finance Chairman, Madison
  • Justin Barnard, CEO, Barnard Equipment, Flowood
  • Paul Carpenter, CEO, Willow Anesthesia Services, Oxford
  • Henry Barbour, Republican National Committeeman, Yazoo City


Source: View Media Release